Determination of Grades

  • Home
  • Determination of Grades

Determination of Grades

Grading System: Absolute grading would be used where the marks obtained are converted to grades based on pre-determined class intervals. To implement the following grading system, the colleges /campuses shall use the following UGC recommended 10-point grading system :

Table 1:Letter Grades and Grade Points


Letter Grades

Grade Points(G)


O     (Outstanding)


80 to < 90

A+  (Excellent)


70 to < 80

A    (Very Good)


60 to < 70

B+  (Good)


50 to < 60

B    (Above Average)


40 to < 50

C    (Average)


36 to < 40

D    (Pass)        


0 to < 36          

F    (Fail)           



AB (Absent)



  1. A student obtaining Grade F shall be considered failed and will be required to reappear in the examination as per existing rules of the university under Semester System for Under Graduate Courses.
  2. Grade (D) or percentage of marks ( 36%) is required to pass in a course, SGPA of 4 to qualify a semester and a minimum CGPA of 4 to qualify for a UG degree.


Computation of SGPA and CGPA

The following procedure shall be used to compute the Semester Grade Point Average (SGPA) and Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA):

  1. The SGPA is the ratio of sum of the product of the number of credits with the grade points scored by a student in all the courses taken by a student and the sum of the number of credits of all the courses undergone by a student, i.e SGPA (Si) = Σ(Ci x Gi) / ΣCi ,where Ci is the number of credits of the ith course and Gi is the grade point scored by the student in the ith course.
  1. The CGPA is also calculated in the same manner taking into account all the courses undergone by a student over all the semesters of a programme, i.e. CGPA = Σ(Ci x Si) / Σ Ci where Si is the SGPA of the ith semester and Ci is the total number of credits in that semester.
  2. The SGPA and CGPA shall be rounded off to 2 decimal points and reported in the transcripts.